High school football all-state teams announced

Photo: KPUG

High school football all-state teams announced

The high school football all-state teams have been announced and Whatcom County is very well represented.

In Class 3A Ferndale defensive back Joey Akers made the first-team.

In Class 2A Trent Postma of Lynden is the state Player of the Year, earning first-team recognition as a running back and linebacker. Also for Lynden Jaremy Martin made first-team as a linebacker and 2nd team as a tight end, Jalani Phelps is a first-team wide receiver. Trevor Lange and Tristan Campbell made it on the offensive line and Rudy Mendoza is a first-team all-state defensive back. Jalani Phelps made the second-team as a defensive end. Sehome offensive lineman Drew Norvell is second-team all-state.

In Class 1A first-team all-state recognition went to Mt. Baker quarterback Andrew Zender, Blaine wide receiver Josiah Westbrook, Meridian’s Spencer Blackburn made it on both sides of the line, Chad Cohn of Mt. Baker on the O-line, also for the Mountaineers linebacker Cody Larson, defensive back Izaiha Schwinden, and Alex Tyska at punter and kicker made it.

On the 1A second-team are Latrez Jones of Meridian at running back and defensive back, Izaiha Schwinden of Mt. Baker at running back and Nooksack’s Leni Halaapiapi on the O-line.

In Class 1B Lummi had two players make second team all-state with Austin Brockie at wideout and Deion Hoskins at defensive line.